Thankful 

As I slowly awake from my slumber,Captivating aromas fill the den I exit.

My feet tingle as I walk across the 

recently cleaned hardwood floors

that take me to the kitchen. There

I see a flame that kindles my body

And its desire to fill it with food.

The food that is cooked my those 

I love dearly, that always know 

how to lift me up like a home-cooked 

meal after months away at school. 

Simply being home is a reason I’m 

thankful this season, as I sit down 

and just think how great it is to have life, 

write words, and be alive: something

I sometimes forget is the greatest gift

Leave a Reply

