Playback- The Quote and a Bonus Poem Challenge Day 1

IMG_0629

Before I begin, I gotta say a huge shoutout to mfstark who challenged me to do this. He’s a really cool guy with amazing poetry and you guys should definitely check him out! Link to his blog is here: A Standard Issued Life

The Quote: “Things have been so crazy and hectic, I should’ve gotten back by now” – Drake from his song ‘Karaoke’

The Poem:

All around me I hear noises of despair,

distress, and people saying they can’t take the stress.

I’ve been trapped inside my mind’s maze

where all of my memories stay

on repeat, showing me the previous days.

Their voices are blasts from the past

as I sit here daydreaming of my mistakes…

wondering what I did wrong

as the radio plays all of our favorite songs.

Each track sending goosebumps

along my back to where I feel choked up

emotions gripping me by the jugular

yelling words that are secular…

My mind the ransom.

I can’t even begin to fathom

how I will repair my reality

as I pull up to your driveway that holds my sanity.

Nominees for Day 1 are:

Poems by Nadia

silver-tongued poetry

Deanne’s World

The rules for this challenge are:

1. Each day for three consecutive days post a quote (any quote – you can even come up with your own) and a poem to accompany it.

2. On each day nominate 3 bloggers for the challenge.

3. Don’t forget to thank the blogger who nominated you

6 thoughts on “Playback- The Quote and a Bonus Poem Challenge Day 1

Leave a Reply

